The Theory of Everything Review

Hey!

So I’m doing something a little different today, something I don’t think I’ve done before and for good reason. I am not a film critique, I don’t profess to have really intelligent, profound things to say about certain films out of the fear of rejection and such. However, I couldn’t not share my thoughts on this amazing film.

The Theory of Everything is a basically a film telling the story of Stephen Hawking and Jane Wilde. Of course the main thread of the story is Stephen’s heart wrenching battle with Motoneuron Disease, and all the ways he over comes it through his life. It also shows us Jane’s own personal struggle and devotion and the whole film is just so personal and beautiful.

At moments it had me close to tears, of course for example when Stephen finds out about the disease, and others it had me laughing out loud. I don’t want to give too much away, but it is a truly stunning film, with the soundtrack equally stunning, I’ve been listening to it non stop since!

A lot of this is down to the incredible actor’s and actresses in it. Felicity is amazing, but I have to say personally, Eddie Redmayne in this is breathtaking. I’ve seen him in quite a few other roles, all of which have been great, but this is something else. You really just forget who he is and completely believe he IS Stephen Hawking. The way he portrays him and his slow decline in health is truly brilliant.

As I say these are just my personal opinions, but I urge you to go and see this film because I thoroughly enjoyed it and would see it again any day!

Lucy xxx

2 thoughts on “The Theory of Everything Review

  1. Thanks for the review! I’m looking forward to seeing it myself.
    However, to be accurate, Stephen Hawking suffers from ALS rather than Motor Neurone Disease, and, being pedantic, the above is the critique; you are acting as the critic!

    1. heya, thanks for your comment, you’ll really enjoy it! In the film they tell him he has Motor Neurone Disease so I’m going off that, and I don’t mind being a critic but I’m just not saying I’m something I’m not!

Leave a Reply

