A Northern Road Trip: Blackpool, Manchester Xmas Markets & Merseyside…

Hello!

So I’m back from up north, we mainly went up to see my gran and sort through some of my late grandparents flat but we also fitted some other stuff in too which I thought I would share with you lovely people! 🙂

So we arrived in Lytham St. Annes (about a mile from Blackpool, but I always just say Blackpool to people because they never know where Lytham is!) on Wednesday night so we just had some food with my gran and then went to bed, but we decided to go into Altrincham (which is where my gran used to live, and got married etc) and then go on into Manchester to check out the christmas markets the next day. 🙂

Now if I haven’t mentioned it before, I love Manchester. I don’t know what it is, maybe because I’m originally from that area, or just that I love big city atmosphere, but I just love it! So I was sooooo excited to go back and see the xmas markets!

So the next morning we headed out to Altrincham first….

This is the church where my Granny's family is buried and where she got married :)
This is the church where my Granny’s family is buried and where she got married 🙂
My mum and my gran.
My mum and my gran.

We then popped into the pub across the road where my grans dad used to go and had some lunch, it was AMAZING by the way! I had a cheddar cheese and ale chutney sandwhich, yummy!

We then headed off into Manchester city centre! Woo yeah! After the slight stress of finding a car park and seeing the prices for it, we headed towards the markets!

China town!
China town!

We passed Chinatown and the gay village and everywhere just had such a nice atmosphere 🙂 However I started to need the loo (typical Lucy) so we popped into Manchester’s Art Gallery and I’m so glad we did! I love art galleries anyway so I felt right at home straight away.

They had like a fashion exhibition on so we walked round that a bit, now you know how much I love fashion, and these were like vintage dresses, so I LOVED IT!IMG_0024

IMG_0193

IMG_0192

IMG_0023

IMG_0022 IMG_0020

IMG_0021    I am also very interested in WW1 and any warfare really and they had a ‘Sensory War’ exhibition going on upstairs which I’d actually seen the posters for outside, so we went to check that out too.

There were some really hard hitting pieces of art and photography which made you appreciate what you have and makes you very grateful and respectful of the people that are out there fighting wars. It was actually quite emotional, but I like art and photography like that, that have a meaning behind them, to get a reaction.

 

So when we’d finished in the art gallery we continued on our way to the markets. Manchester really is a beautiful city, here are some more shots I took on the way…IMG_0195       IMG_0195

 

IMG_0197

 

Finally we made it to the markets!IMG_0199

IMG_0200

 

The Town Hall Ceiling :)
The Town Hall Ceiling 🙂

IMG_0202

IMG_0203

I bought some lovely soaps at the market (Review to come) but mostly I just enjoyed looking. 🙂

We went into House Of Fraser for a coffee where I may have bought my first MAC lipstick (Review/description to follow in another post!) and then we decided to head back to the car 🙂

IMG_0211 IMG_0212

 

Some more pics outside Chinatown on the way back!

And that was it! The next day we just cleared the flat and then headed into Merseyside to see an old uni friend of my mums. It was nice to see her laughing about old times and her friend (Suzie), her children and husband were really nice and welcoming so that was fun.

However stopping off there meant we didn’t get home until 3am, so sorry for the late blog post today, I haven’t been awake long!

Hope you enjoyed this slightly longer post than normal! Let me know what you think!

Lucy xxx

Leave a Reply

