Interview Tips and Techniques!

So after having a fair few job interviews recently and being pretty successful in more than one, I feel I have gained a good amount of experience of this tricky process that I thought I would share with all you lovely people!

Having anxieties myself job interviews are not easy, but I think everyone gets nervous about job interviews. You want to come across chatty and enthusiastic but also polite and passionate, it can be a hard balance to get right. So today I thought I would compile a list of my top tips for interviews that I have collected over the years!

job-interview
Credit: Google

 

  1. Clothes. If you are given a dress code, stick to it. For example if its formal/smart thats no jeans, trainers or sports wear. Even if its smart/casual for me the same still applies but its a bit more slack. If you are going for a job in a fashion shop unless told otherwise you might want to wear a piece of their clothing, however cheesy this may seem it may help you get in the mindset of that shop and shows you have thought about what you’re wearing. MAKE A GOOD IMPRESSION. What you’re wearing is going to be the first thing they see.
  2. Personality. Now saying that, obviously a company should not employ you on face value. It’s all to do with how you conduct yourself during the interview and how you come across. This can hard for some, especially if you more of an introvert like me. I find it hard to pick good aspects about myself and play them up, but you must. You have good qualities that this company need, keep telling yourself that. Be chatty and bubbly, but not overly so or you could come across annoying. Think about what they would want from you as an employee.
  3. Knowledge. There is no harm in doing a bit of research on the company the night before. You may even learn something interesting that you didn’t know about them! For example, did you know that the first New Look store was in my town of Taunton?! And if they ask you if you know anything about their company then you will, bonus! This makes a really good impression. They may not, but as always its much better to be prepared than underprepared.
  4. Past Experience. They are going to ask you about past jobs and other experiences. Questions they love to ask are ones centred about when you’ve performed well. For example one question might be ‘Tell me about a time you have worked well as part of team’ or ‘Tell me about a time you have delivered great customer service.’ Now if this is you’re first job, they will know that from your CV and will probably adapt the questions accordingly. However a lot of the time they also let you talk about school experiences so don’t be afraid to use those! You might worry that you’ll come across young and inexperienced but thats not true! In one of my last interviews I used a lot of school and college related answers and I was offered the job! Use experience from life, not just from past work.
  5. Hello/Goodbye. Now I’ve gotten used to doing this so it has kind of become second nature, but to a lot of newbies/introverts it might not be. You’re greeting and you’re goodbye are just as important as the main interview. I personally always greet my interviewer with a ‘Hi/Hello, nice to meet you, I’m Lucy.’ If they haven’t said my name already. Also a simple handshake really breaks the ice and people respond really well to it, it shows you are professional but friendly. If you forget to shake their hand before, or it seems awkward, don’t worry, just wait till the end and say something like, ‘It was lovely to meet you, thanks for your time,’ and go in for the handshake then. There is not a lot of people that will reject you for a handshake, its pretty much an automatic response to someone sticking their hand out to you!
  6. Questions. At the end they will ask you if you have any questions. Now obviously if they have covered everything or you simply don’t have any questions, then thats completely fine, just say so! But I know that in the heat of an interview you kind of just want to leave, or you just forget you’re questions and then get really annoyed with yourself ten minutes after when you remember then again. So here a few questions that you might want to ask if they haven’t already been covered:
  • When will I hear from you by? 
  • How much is the pay?
  • Uniform?

They will most likely cover most things in the interview and it might seem rude to you to ask about pay or discount or things like that, but trust me, they’ll have heard it before!

 

And that’s about it! I have probably forgotten somethings myself so if you have anything to add, please leave it in comment and we can help each other out!

Hope you enjoyed this blog post!

Lucy xxx

 

Leave a Reply

